Summer raw

Let me clear one thing up right off.  I’m not a healthy eater.  Admitting it is the first step, right? “Hi I’m Karen and I eat a lot of sugar”.

I do try to eat and live vegan, and succeed 99% of the time, but there are a LOT of vegan foods that aren’t healthy!

I look at veg eating a little like a grid

EAT ANIMAL PRODUCTS (A)

HEALTHY (H)

Whole grains, fresh, unprocessed

NO ANIMAL PRODUCTS (V)

HA

(impossible)

VH

UA

 

UH

 

 

UNHEALTHY (U)

Fats, sugars, refined products, processed foods

 

(I see the table didn’t work so well, hope you get the gist)

And you may notice, with my current nutrition education level and awareness, I don’t think you can be a healthy meat eater, I’ve just seen too much evidence that shows the body can’t always adequately handle the animal products.   I know our bodies have adapted very well, but I’ve found for optimal function it doesn’t want  animal flesh.  

So the animal part out of the way, that leaves healthy and unhealthy veganism.  Being a vegan is so easy these days, but that doesn’t make it healthy.  I can go buy a vegan replacement for just about anything – shrimp, crab, fish, beef, lamb, chicken, and praise god even marshmallows!  Every time I find a vegan baked good in the store I buy it.  And if you’ve looked for vegan goodies in the stores you’ll know that there are way too many to eat everytime you’re at the market!

So I want to eat healthier. Much healthier. Which means no processed “meat” products, no home cooked pies, cookies or cakes, no marshmallows (well maybe just one). 

In fact, I started wondering – just what is the healthiest way to eat?  A lot of people are on raw diets, but is that healthy? 

What did our bodies want to eat 20,000 years ago before we started herding animals for food, and before we discovered fire?  Kinda makes me think – probably raw is what we were designed for.

I’ve never dreamed I’d want to try a raw diet, but it might be the kick I need to stop so much sugar and oil (even vegan sugar and oil)!

So, I’m taking the challenge, I’ll do a 21 day raw diet.  Don’t have the exact date, but I’ll start as soon as I find a good guide to tell me what to eat. In the next few days I hope.

I’m very excited about the fact I’ve discovered how to make a travel friendly ranch dressing that is also raw quite by accident!  Since becoming vegan I’ve missed ranch dressing while on the road, I just can’t get used to vinaigrettes, I like the creamy, so I’ve been thinking and thinking about how to package something for the road. I think I got it!  A second trial batch is aging now, can’t wait to try it!

Bring on the raw veges, I’m ready!

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

